Contact Information

Janet Henthorn
Jewish Federation of Omaha
333 South 132nd Street
Omaha, NE 68154
(402) 334-6551

Join Our Mailing List


First Name:

Last Name:

2014 - Laura Delgado, Creighton University School of Law

2014 Recipient Laura DelgadoThe Bennett G. Hornstein Memorial Scholarship for aspiring or current law students has been awarded to Laura Delgado for the 2014-2015 school year. She graduated from Doane College with a Bachelor of Arts in Social Science, with an emphasis in Political Science. Before making the decision to pursue a law degree, Delgado worked as a victim advocate at the Sarpy County Attorney’s Office. She is currently in her first year of the accelerated program at Creighton University’s School of Law.

A divorced mother of a teenage daughter, Delgado decided to resign from the job she loved in order to pursue a law degree at the age of 43.

Before joining the Sarpy County Attorney’s Office, Delgado worked for Heartland Family Service’s Domestic Abuse Program. Among her earlier jobs, she provided emergency community support for the Salvation Army, served as an advocate to victims of domestic violence for the Equality Group, and worked as a legal advocate for the YWCA.

Delgado studied the Spanish language during her undergraduate years. She then taught English in Mexico and was an ESL instructor at Metropolitan Community College.

When Delgado graduates from law school, her ability to speak and write in Spanish will enable her to work as an attorney with the underserved Spanish-speaking community. She has not yet decided if she will work in the public or private sector, but she is sure she will continue to help victims seek justice.

According to Joe Hornstein, “We have awarded $24,000 in scholarship funds to aspiring law students since the endowment was established in 2006. It’s been very rewarding to learn that many of the past recipients have gone on to have very successful legal careers, including working as attorneys at the U.S. Department of Justice, Nebraska Appleseed, and an Iowa County Attorney office.”